Oregon SAF

Coos Chapter SAF Awards C. Wylie Smith III Memorial Scholarship to two Oregon State University Students


Two Oregon State University students from Douglas County were awarded C. Wylie Smith III Memorial Scholarships.  The two recipients are Corrine Walters and Chad Bebeau.  Corrine Walters is a graduate from Roseburg High School and Chad Bebeau is a graduate from Oakland High School.


The C. Wylie Smith III Memorial Scholarship was established in 1973 in memory of C. Wylie Smith III, who lost his life in an industrial accident at the age of 29.  He was the son of C. Wylie Smith II, one of the founders of Coos Head Lumber Company which had milling operations in Coos Bay, Oregon.  He was a 1966 Oregon State University graduate from the College of Forestry in Forest Engineering.

This scholarship fund is administered by the Oregon State University Foundation and recipients are chosen by the Coos Chapter Society of American Foresters.  Recipients of this scholarship must be full-time undergraduate students enrolled in the College of Forestry with majors in Forest Engineering, Forest Management, or Wood Science and Engineering.  First preference is given to students from Coos, Curry, or Douglas counties.  Selection is based on proven scholarship performance, potential for success in the profession, and financial need.  Congratulations to Corrine Walters and Chad Bebeau on their outstanding accomplishment.


For Further Details contact:

Ron Stuntzner

Stuntzner Engineering & Forestry, LLC

(541) 267-2872